Swedish and Turkish leaders divided over progress of NATO talks – EURACTIV.com

Prime Minister Magdalena Andersson has called the ongoing NATO membership talks between Sweden, Finland and Turkey “good and constructive” amid reports that Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan is unhappy with the how they have developed so far, TT the agency reported on Tuesday.

This weekend, Turkish media reported that Erdogan was unhappy with the progress of talks with Sweden and Finland on NATO membership. According to him, they have not reached the “desired level”.

However, at a press conference in Brussels on Tuesday May 31, Andersson sounded cautious before commenting on Erdogan’s remarks.

“We think the talks have been good and constructive,” she said, adding that Sweden “will continue to have talks with Turkey at different levels. It is a dialogue that will continue.

In addition to “concessions” over Ankara’s concerns over the banned Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK) and its Iraqi and Syrian offshoots, Erdogan also wants Sweden to lift what he calls an arms embargo, though there is not officially one. However, according to TV channel SVT, Sweden has not exported any weapons to Turkey since 2019 and has already pushed the issue to the EU level.

Furthermore, Swedish Foreign Minister Ann Linde previously pointed out inaccuracies in Erdogan’s claims about Sweden’s relationship with the PKK, calling the Turkish statements “serious baseless accusations”.

However, the Green Party has said it fears the government will give in to Erdogan’s demands and ask Linde to explain himself in parliament.

Andersson said she would not reveal trading tactics to the media. “I think it’s better to negotiate in a negotiation room rather than through the media,” she said, but did not confirm whether she would travel to Ankara to meet Erdogan at the request of the authorities. journalists.

“We will consider which forms of meeting and which places are the best. We will do what we think is best for the process,” she added.

For Sweden to join NATO as a member, all 30 member states, including Turkey, must approve.